Top 5 Summer Beauty Essentials

Five essentials to enhance your radiant natural beauty.

summer

Sun cream:

This is a crucial step for anyone looking to expose themselves to the sun’s rays this summer, ‘broad spectrum’ sun creams will protect you from both UVA and UVB rays (associated with the drying and ageing of skin and with burning). Naturally everybody knows, or should do, that it is important to include SPF protection in your daily routine regardless of the time of year as it is essential for keeping your skin looking young, elastic and healthy by offering you protection of the ageing qualities of the sun year-round.

In fact, a little known truth is that in order for an anti-ageing cream to carry that title it must contain a minimum of SPF 15 which only highlights its importance. And whilst we are on the topic of numbers, an SPF30 will protect you from 97% of UV rays whilst an SPF 80 will protect you from 99.9% of UV rays and often the price difference for those 3% is astronomical, just something to keep in mind.

“Wear Sunscreen” as the famous song suggests.

Sunglasses:

Protect your vision from those UV rays as well with quality lenses. Many now come with certification that prove the level of protection that they offer, just take a close look at the sticky labels on the actual lens. I never believe my mom when she told me “not to look at the sun, you’ll go blind” and believe it or not my eyesight has degenerated drastically over the years. Naturally I know years of computer work, dim lighting, genetics etc are much larger factors but the old myth does carry some weight.

When the heat really starts to kick it up a notch who really wants to put on a full face of makeup only for it all to slide right back off again anyway? My sunglasses allow me to disguise my naked face until I get comfortable on the beach sans makeup! Also the bright sunlight makes us squint much more which exacerbates those pesky crows feet and can so easily be avoided with a pair of sunglasses. Anything that stops me wrinkling up my face, stretching my skin and over time causing it to lose elasticity is great in my book.

BB Cream:

Whilst we are on the topic of summer makeup, like my wardrobe I do tend to swap my heavy duty ‘layers’ (see what I did there..) of primer, foundation, concealer, blusher etc. for a much simpler, light and airy approach. Don’t ask me what exactly the science is behind BB Creams but I do know they are perfect for the summer, hassle free and simple to use. They offer much less coverage than foundation but what with our gorgeous glowing summer complexions, why would we want to hide it under too much slap. It is also great for matching your skin tone as the colour is less prominent; I have found sometimes after a few serious days of sun my foundation just doesn’t match my skin colour anymore whereas BB Cream seems to make this adjustment well.

Moisturiser:

I would opt for one with a little Aloe in for the summer to combine moisture for your skin with its soothing properties for accidental sun burn, double whammy. I love to find products with multiple uses; the more flexible something can be the more mileage I can get out of it and therefore much more value for money. So look out of a soothing moisturiser this summer to keep your skin hydrated and prevent that nasty post-burn peel.

Water:

Your skin needs a drink and you do too. Nothing makes your sin look plumper, healthier and rejuvenated that plain old water and is certainly a whole lot cheaper than the mountains of wonder creams that vie for our attention. Drinking a glass of water also helps to dilute the acidity in your mouth caused by fruit juices, vinegars or wine which weaken your enamel and over time will damage that pearly-white smile, so between meals it keeps that damage minimal.

Drinking water also staves off mild cravings and snacking between meals. So often when my stomach begins to assault me with all sorts of cravings, I am just in fact thirsty but the message becomes tangled and associated with hunger. When I feel this coming I’ll drink a glass of water and wait 15mins and mostly by then I have forgotten I was hungry. Actually, just before I started to write this the brownies in the kitchen were drawing me in but I abstained and reached for a glass of water. Right now I am in a bit of a mood with myself for not indulging but I know I will feel so much better for it later.

Therefore something as cheap and accessible of water can stave off superficial cravings; so also cut down on that horrible bloated feeling just in time for bikini season and help my complexion; win win!

ZanzibarCollage

This entry was posted in Beauty, Body Moisturisers, Skincare, Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 5 Summer Beauty Essentials

  1. nataliejo210 says:

    I love this article! I just started a blog and it would mean so much if you could check out my site! Followed btw xx

  2. Amy Louise says:

    Hi!

    I’ve nominated you for a Verstile Blogger Award because I love to read you blog posts! Here’s the link http://amywho1991.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/versatile-blogging-award/

    So go and check it out so you can get the rules and nominate your 15 favourite blogs for the versatile blogger award!

  3. Jess A says:

    Love it! Low maintenance, just like me. Except I need to remember to wear sunscreen more….I got burnt at my friend’s cottage last weekend (funnily enough, not on my face…just, like, the rest of my body…. :S ).

Leave a Reply

